happy prince

artist: Nadja

title: Numbness

catalog no: HPPR009

release date: 2009.4.15

media: CD

1. Veil of Disillusion

2. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen

3. Long Dark Twenties

4. Alien In My Own Skin

5. Time Is Our Disease

6. Numb

Nadja is a duo of Aidan Baker (guitar, vocals, drums, piano, flute) and Leah Buckareff (bass, vocals, violin) from Toronto, Canada, creating what has been called "ambient doom," music that combines elements of metal, shoegazer, ambient, post-rock, experimental, and neo-classical. They have released numerous albums on such labels as Alien8 Recordings, The End Records, and Conspiracy Records and have toured extensively including appearances at such festivals as Roadburn,FIMAV, and SXSW.
"Numbness" is a shoegaze-oriented compilation album from a Japanese label called Happy Prince focusing on emotional kind of rock music like post rock, shoegaze and guitar rock. It consists of six tracks. Most of tracks is originally released on limited vinyl or rare compilations. There are two vocal-centered tracks, which reveals the influence of My Bloody Valentine on Nadja. Last track "Numb" is amazingly 21-minute drone noise track synchronizing dark psychedelia of Mono and Mogwai. Awesome.

NUMBNESS track listing and info:

1) Veil of Disillusion
originally released on Shadows Infinitum compilation (Crucial Bliss 2004)

2) God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
originally released on The Holiday Masterpieces compilation (Blod Records 2004)

3) Long Dark Twenties (slightly extended 7" version)
originally released on 7" (Anthem Records 2008)

4) Alien In My Own Skin

5) Time Is Our Disease
originally released on Infernal Procession... 3-way split with Atavist and Satori (Cold Spring Records 2008)

6) Numb
originally released on Base Fluid 'net release (Foreshadow Productions 2007)